What’s in a (dragon’s) name?

I mentioned recently that I need to come up with new names for a few supporting characters in the goblin project, and that I thought the graveyard might be a good place to find some inspiration. I took a quick trip through the cemetery (not exhaustive by any means, but as much as I could do at the time) and found these names I’d never heard/read before. Perhaps with your help and this inspiration my character might finally have a decent name.

Surnames:

  • Fouty
  • Clintsman
  • Nauta
  • Gort (this sounds like the name of a fantasy creature, right?)
  • Scharphorn (another good name for a dragon, I’d think….)
  • Antcliff
  • Haliburton
  • Berkenpas
First names:
  • Harmke
  • Marinus (makes me think of Namor, the Sub-Mariner from Marvel Comics)
  • Truxton

The goblin project is a story within the adventure/fantasy genre. In the haste of writing my first draft I filled in a dragon’s name with the word “Thrieg.” I’ve got to do better than that. Do you have a favorite¬†from the names listed above? Or maybe some creative conjugation of them? Since Thrieg is a dragon “Sharphorn” seems like a good choice. However, his brief role in my story is as a protector, and a servant to disenfranchised goblins. Should his name, then, reflect his function in the story?

3 thoughts on “What’s in a (dragon’s) name?

  1. Brad Porter

    I’ve recently been working with some people with interesting names I’ve never heard of before: Samer Imam, Nader Owies, Lee Fasha Vang, Kai Saul, and Kak Lee. Sharphorn really does sound like an old dragon name. I don’t think you necessarily need to have the dragon name reflect what he does. “Yoda” doesn’t really tell me this is a wise, old, Jedi master…

    Reply
    1. Andrew Rogers Post author

      Great names! Thanks for the creative fuel…
      You’re right, the name doesn’t have to reflect the function. Sometimes it’s cool if they do however, think of Han Solo (rogue, loner, etc) or Luke Skywalker (Skywalker? Space traveller, journeyman, on a quest…) Or even more obvious ones like Remus Lupin.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings « Tell Better Stories

Leave a Reply

