Great Grandpa’s Story

My dad recently wrote his reflections on my great grandfather’s life and legacy for a local paper here in MI. He tells a great story.My great grandfather’s life is a great story in itself. I hope you’ll take the time to read it. Though he died when I was very young, and my memories of him are few and vague, I’m certainly proud to be a part of my great grandfather’s family and legacy. Here’s the article:

Grandpa’s Life, Legacy, and Living Letters

by Rex M. Rogers

My Grandfather was called “Bones.” Back when they were small, his little brother John could not pronounce “Lewis” and called his big brother “Bones” instead. So Lewis became Bones for the rest of his life.

When I was a kid this always interested me a great deal because I never saw a bone. Grandpa carried some weight and was a short, big guy.

Grandpa’s parents immigrated from Wales not long before he was born in Ohio in 1903. He loved and played baseball, apparently to some level of prowess because Detroit Tigers scouts once traveled to see him play. All his life he loved to make huge pans of what he called, “Welsh Cheese,” his version sans alcohol of what more sophisticated types called “Welsh Rarebit.” Maybe that’s one reason he was a big guy.

Click here to read the full article

Leave a Reply

