Work in Progress Challenge

My good friend Bob tagged me with this challenge. It’s fun. I hope you’ll pick up the mantle and run with it too. If you do, be sure to link to your post in the comments below. I’d love to read about your work in progress.

1. What is the title of your book/WIP?

On the blog I’ve been calling it “the goblin project“.

2. Where did the idea for the WIP come from?

The goblin project is a quest story. So any stories about heroes going on quests I’ve read, including Tolkien’s famous books, have probably helped inspire this book. Also (and this may sound stupid to some of you) fantasy based games like “Shadows Over Camelot” or “Magic: The Gathering” have inspired different elements of the story too.

3. What genre would your WIP fall under?

Fantasy. Goblins, knights, dragons, dark and scary forests, and a few other classic fantasy tropes are all involved.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Since the main character is a goblin it’s sort of hard to imagine. I guess I’d pick the guy who played R2D2 and stick him in a goblin suit….just because he was so awesome as R2D2!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your WIP?

A young goblin attempts to save his people from a tyrant sorcerer by chasing an unbelievable legend across the countryside with failed knight and rogue jinn.

6. Is your WIP published or represented?

Nope. It’s still officially a WIP.

7. How long did it take you to write?

I wrote the first draft during the 2011 3-Day Novel Contest. I was not an official contestant that year, but wrote my within the contest format just because it’s a ton of fun to write that way. I’m revising it now (sporadically) and that has taken months.

8. What other WIPs within your genre would you compare it to?

I have no idea. I don’t know anyone else who is writing in quite the same genre. My buddy Bob is also a fantasy writer, but his book is not quite in the same vein.

9. Which authors inspired you to write this WIP?

Tolkien, of course. My favorite writer, Ray Bradbury, played no small part. Others I’ve read along the way have contributed to my love of storytelling too: Lewis, L’Engle, Maugham, Gaiman. And comic book authors too, like: Loeb, Johns, and Waid.

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in this project.

One of my favorite characters in the book is a failed knight named, “Ardy.” My nickname is “Andy.” Our names are not our only similarities. ;-)

___________

Tag, you’re it! Take up the Work In Progress Challenge and let me know about your book. If you do, don’t forget to send me a link in the comments below.

Ardy Andy

5 thoughts on “Work in Progress Challenge

    1. Andrew Rogers Post author

      Be careful what you wish for! :)
      I have the first 4 chapters ready for reading if you are interested. It amounts to about 30 pages, double-spaced. Let me know if you want to see them, or if you want to see a little less than that. I know your time is precious to you now with the newborn and all.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: The 3-Day Novel Contest 2008 – 2011 « Tell Better Stories

Leave a Reply

