Book note: An Eerdmans Century, 1911 – 2011

Larry ten Harmsel, Reinder Van TilI enjoy reading books on publishing. One of my favorites is Book Business: Publishing Past, Present and Future by Jason Epstein. I like it because it reminds me of the ideals I cherish about publishing and makes me want to roll up my sleeves and make a good book.

Recently I was given a copy of An Eerdmans Century, 1911-2011 by Larry ten Harmsel with Reinder Van Til. I’ve not read it yet but it has joined my ever-growing “to read” list. I feel privileged to be in a city that so many publishing houses call home: Baker, Zondervan, Eerdmans, Kregel and others. When I started working for Zondervan I read The House of Zondervan by Jim Ruark and was interested to learn the history of the Zondervan brothers and how they turned a used book business into a publishing house. (I’m now uber-privileged to get to work with Jim.)

I also enjoy reading about my home city, Grand Rapids, MI. I enjoy the city because it seems to be just the right size between big and small. We have most of the major attractions of a big city but you can still cross the whole thing in 25 minutes. What’s not to like about that?

When I get around to reading this book on Eerdmans I’ll post a review here. I’m hoping it will not only fan the flames of my publishing fire, but that I’ll get a few glimpses at early Grand Rapids along the way too.

If you know of other books about publishing history that you’d recommend, Please let me know. I’m always on the look out for a good book.

Leave a Reply

