Writing update: the goblin project

I just finished a full read through of the goblin project. I’ve not read the entire  story since the first draft was produced last September. Since that time I’ve picked it up now and again in short spurts but have not put any focused work into improving it. Lately, however, I’ve been reminded that the only thing preventing this book from being published is me.

So why not put a little effort into it?

Anyway, when I first drafted the story it was about 30,600+ words long. It contained only ten chapters. That’s not a full novel by any stretch, but it’s not a bad start. (At least I don’t think it is.)

As I read through the story this week I fixed numerous errors and filled in a few glaring holes in the story. I also took notes on various scenes and ideas I wanted to add later. I have not thought of my recent work on the story as a “second draft,” but rather a time of preparing to write a second draft.

That said, my novel is now a little bit longer: It is 32,800+ words long and still contains only ten chapters. Here’s how the chapters break down by word count:

  • Chap. 1 = 3,500+
  • Chap. 2 = 937
  • Chap. 3 = 2,700+
  • Chap. 4 = 6,700+
  • Chap. 5 = 2,000+
  • Chap. 6 = 4,300+
  • Chap. 7 = 1,200+
  • Chap. 8 = 3,300+
  • Chap. 9 = 6,900+
  • Chap. 10 = 664

It’s plain to see I have some balance issues going on with the story right now. The ending is way too short and certain chapters are much longer than others. I plan to try and keep chapters between 2,000 words and 4,000 words if possible.  I will likely cut chapters 3 and 9 in half if I can find a natural point in the story to do so. As for the ending, upon reading it this week I realized that I left the character “Ardy’s” personal story line unresolved. I have plenty of space in the last chapter to bring his story to a resolution.

But chapters and word length are not what make a novel a novel. The story is what matters. My hope is that by re-reading it this week I’ve not only immersed myself back into the world of the goblins, but I also hope my imagination for this story has been rekindled. I plan to begin work on the second draft immediately. I’ll keep you informed of my progress.

I’ve shone a light on a sea of ideas. Now it’s time to plumb new depths.

-AR

3 thoughts on “Writing update: the goblin project

  1. Pingback: Brain Bomb: Goblins part 2! « Tell Better Stories

  2. Pingback: Why I Love the 3-Day Novel Contest (and Why I’ll do it again next year) « Tell Better Stories

  3. Pingback: The 3-Day Novel Contest 2008 – 2011 « Tell Better Stories

Leave a Reply

