Book note: One more from Ray Bradbury

Ray BradburyI miss Ray Bradbury. Seriously.

Every October for the last five years or so I’ve read a lot of his work. October is the best time to read him. So many of his stories reference October, Halloween, autumn, and other related things. I think I’ve probably read The Homecoming on Halloween night for three or four years in a row now.

This year, however, I read so much of his stuff in the summer (Dandelion Wine, Farewell Summer, The Toynbee Convector, and pieces of Zen and the Art of Writing) that I’ve been giving him a break. And so I miss him.

As a result, I can’t tell you how delighted I was to stumble upon this book last week: The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2012 with an introduction by none other than Mr. Bradbury. It’s now near the top of my “too-read” list.

I have no idea what his last published piece is, but this one has got to be close to it. Can’t wait to read it.

-AR

Leave a Reply

