Please Vote for my short story in the Write Michigan contest!

I’m thrilled to announce that I’m a finalist in the Write Michigan short story contest. My sci-fi story, “Archived,” is one of ten stories that were chosen by judges to be voted on by the public between now and January 31st. I’m humbled and completely excited to spread the news about this honor between now and then. I’m so grateful for this opportunity!

Will you vote for me? 

Here’s what you need to know about voting:

  • You can read the story in full and vote for it here: http://writemichigan.org/vote.html
  • Anyone can vote. Voters don’t have to live in Michigan residents. (Only the writers had to be Michigan residents.)
  • You can vote once per week from a given computer in each of the two categories: Writers over 18, and writers under 18.
  • That means you could vote on your work computer, then your home computer, then on your phone, then on your iPad, then on your whatever-else-you’ve-got … once per week.
  • Voting ends on January 31, 2013
  • Winners are announced on February 1, 2013.
  • You can read all about the contest and all of the entries in both the adult and teenage categories at www.WriteMichigan.org 
This image will make sense after you've read the story. (Found on Wiki Commons.)

This image will make sense after you’ve read the story. (Found on Wiki Commons.)

I can’t tell you how thrilled I am that my story was chosen. This is the first time I’ve ever been a “finalist” at anything. (I honestly can remember being a finalist in anything before. I generally avoid competitions like I avoid math problems or diet soda.) I owe a huge debt of thanks to a few people:

  • My wife, for her endless support of my writing.
  • My writers group, The Weaklings, for their constant encouragement, coaching, spurring-on, and camaraderie.  I was with the Weaklings when I wrote my first draft of this story during the 3-Day Novel weekend of 2010. It sat in my filing cabinet for over a year before I touched it again.
  • My friend and Zondervan colleague, Brian Phipps, who read an early draft of this story and provided critical feedback on the characters and the plot.  Brian is a published poet and his advice on how to “earn my ending” was (and still is) invaluable to me.

I’m so excited to have been chosen to be a finalist that honestly, even if I lose, I’ll still be thrilled and thankful. What an honor just to place in the final ten!

Please take a few minutes and cast a vote for me. Thank you!

-Andy Rogers

3 thoughts on “Please Vote for my short story in the Write Michigan contest!

  1. Tanya

    I just read your story and I loved it. I really felt each woman’s troubles through the snippets from the Life Drives and the conversations. Hamilton’s voice is wonderful, how he can’t fully understand how people feel but has his own unique perspective (like comparing the Life Drives to his bug collection).

    Congratulations on winning Reader’s Choice! I’ll be reading more of your writing. (I actually found your blog through sixwordstories.net.)

    Reply
    1. Andrew Rogers Post author

      Thanks so much! Winning that award was crazy. I still can’t believe it. Thanks for your encouraging words and for taking the time to read “Archived.”

      I just put something up on Six Word Stories a few hours ago. Here’s hoping they like it! Have you had anything published there?

      Best,
      AR

      Reply
  2. Tanya

    I hope they publish yours! It suggests so much beyond what it states. What you said about pronouns is interesting. I think tense is important, too. In present, there could still be hope for them, but in past, I imagined someone standing in the rubble of a crashed relationship, looking back to the first warning signs.

    I submitted my first one yesterday: “Soulmates meet. Both burn. Neither speaks.” I really like writing in short formats. I’m trying to push myself to finish some longer stories, though.

    Thanks for posting Orson Scott Card’s character advice, by the way! It’s so thought-provoking. I hadn’t thought of reputation and stereotypes before. I’m very curious to read the story about Rose when it’s published. :) An elementary school teacher certainly isn’t the stereotypical villain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

