Humbled By Typos

Here’s a short, humorous, all-too-true post about typos.

Susie Finkbeiner


purple pen

Writing means edits. Editing is writing. Slash those words. Kill your darlings*. Cut and add and fix and all that jazz.

I don’t mind editing. Actually, I like reading the ideas my editor has for my novels**.

When something structural needs to be fixed, I’ll do it. Go through and change up verb tense? I’m on it. Add a little to intensify a scene. Awesome.

But…oh, the embarrassment. The trauma. The…the…the…

TYPOS.

They can be sprinkled throughout a manuscript, hiding among sentences. They’re the little comma that snuck in somehow. Or the the the repeated word. “She took a step toward the steps”. UGH!

Nothing will bring the lofty mind of a writer back to earth like a manuscript, rife with typos.

When I need a little humbling, I think of all the tipos tIepoes typos that I consistently need to weed.

*”Kill your darlings” is an expression in…

View original post 64 more words

2 thoughts on “Humbled By Typos

    1. Andrew Rogers Post author

      There are a few words I always, always, always misspell:

      Consistently – I always use an a instead of e
      Acquisition – I always forget one of the i’s
      Misspell – Ironically … I either forget one of the s’s, or one of the l’s or I just mix up the letters.

      Seriously, I never spell these words correctly!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

